This is DJ (DAKOTA JR)

DJ is a Black Lab puppy who was rescued from the City of Hesperia Animal Shelter in CA. She was spayed prior to going to her new home. She began “spitting up” but the new owners thought it was from just having surgery. They ended up in emergency where DJ was given antibiotics, but a week later when she was not better, they got diagnosis of ME at their DVM.

 

This poor baby girl cannot go back to the shelter, but the owners do NOT have the resources, time or income to manage this puppy now that they realize what ME entails. They work long hours and are away from home, do not have income to cover more extensive medical needs so need to find the right home for this sweet girl.

 

  • Current age: 10 months old             ●          Current weight:  47 lbs
  • Dogs Current Status: Owned ●          Location: Hesperia, CA

 

  • Owners Name & Location: Norma Azakas / Hesperia, CA
  • Contact info: 760.963.3088 or calicobst@aol.com

 

Timeframe for finding a home: As soon as possible

 

Medical information (spay/neuter, chipped, other health conditions if any, etc):

  •          Spayed
  •          Micro chipped
  •          Healthy except for the ME

 

Where and how did we get this dog:

City of Hesperia Animal Shelter and have had her since the end of January, 2014; told she was 5 months old at that time

 

Where and how was her ME diagnosed:

Animal hospital (give name if known): Hesperia Animal Hospital

X-rays or barium swallow: Both

 

Food brands and consistency (meatballs, milkshake, pureed, etc):

Pedigree canned food and pouches (pate)

 

Fed how many times per day in what position and timeframe:

  •          fed twice a day (morning and evening)
  • Occasional snack pouch – either ½ the bigger can with a pouch of food or a whole small can with the pouch twice a day
  • Food and water currently elevated on a step stool
  • Try to have her sit or put front paws on lap or couch for at least 15 minutes after

 

Hydration method and consistency (Knox Blox, SubQ, Thick It, etc):

Water elevated as much as possible

 

Meds currently taking: None

 

Items that will go with her:

  •          Collar
  •          Play tug ropes
  •          Hard chew toys
  •          Pink stuffed animal
  •          Elevated feeding/water station with step stool
  •          Bed
  •          Health records

 

Miscellaneous:

  • Exercises in the front yard all day
  • Loves to play with children
  • Fascinated with cats, but hasn’t been near one to see reaction
  • Does fine on a leash
  • Housebroken
  • Not crate trained
  • Doesn’t need to wear a pro collar and prefers to sleep in a bedroom with family

 

NOTES (any other pertinent information that will help you decide if you might be her safe, loving, forever home):

 

“She is a very lovable dog, normal in every way except the ME. DJ is a very good watch dog and is protective of her family.”