This is DRAKE,

Drake is an adorable Dachshund who needs to get into a home that knows how to manage his ME. These wonderful owners saved him from a Craigslist posting but then found out he had ME. They have done everything they should have regarding diagnosis and not only had their DVM evaluate him but also took him to Auburn University for further testing to confirm but also rule out other underlying issues. They are having a difficult trying to get him managed better so he has more days without regurging. Good news is Drake is very happy and LOVES to play. He will do great in a home with other animals, but hasn’t been around children so that would be questionable.

                                                                            

  • Current age: 7 months old Current weight:  7.8 pounds
  • Dogs Current Status: With owner Location: Newnan, Georgia
  • Owners Name & Location: Dean & Rebecca Riede / Newnan, GA
  • Contact info: Rebecca 678.469.4229  r.riede@icloud.com/ /

           Dean 678.614.2607, dean@acsofga.com

            

Timeframe needed to find a home: As soon as possible

Medical information (spay/neuter, chipped, other health conditions if any, etc):

  • Neutered
  • Up-to-date with shots
  • Has been rabies vaccinated
  • On heartworm meds

Where and how did we get this dog:

“I purchased this puppy from a lady via Craig’s list. She owned the parents (mom was a miniature and dad was a standard). I got Drake on October 26, 2018.”

Where and how was ME diagnosed: “Drake’s ME was first diagnosed at Banfield in Newnan, GA. on Jan. 9, 2019 We then took him to Auburn University Vet Hospital for more test and confirmation that his ME couldn’t be corrected via surgery Jan. 31, 2019. He was also tested for Addison’s disease, and test results were negative on Feb. 7, 2019.”

Animal hospital: Banfield- Newnan, GA

X-rays or barium swallow: Barium swallow with x-rays

Meds currently taken:

Sildenafil 2.5 mg/ml oral suspension, takes 1.6mLs by mouth every 12 hours

Metoclopramide 5mg tab, takes 1/4 tablet by mouth every 12 hours

Food brands and consistency (meatballs, milkshake, pureed, etc):

  • Natural Balance Puppy Formula, canned
  • Consistency is pureed


Fed how many times per day in what position and timeframe:

  • Eats 3 times per day
  • He eats in an upright position sitting in a mailbox
  • Fed approximately every 5 hours

 

Hydration method and consistency (Knox Blox, SubQ, Thick It, etc): “I add a small amount of water to his food three times a day.”

Items that will go to the new home:

  • Crate
  • Pet taxi
  • Car seat
  • Three doggie beds
  • Toys
  • Clothes
  • Blankets
  • Leashes
  • Traveling bag
  • Medication
  • Food


Exercise preferred (if any) and level (high, moderate, low): “Drake is very playful and loves to be outside, he will walk with you.”                         

Miscellaneous:

  • Loves other animals – wants to play with them
  • Has not been exposed to any small children, but has a very friendly personality
  • Some leash training
  • Housebroken
  • Crate trained
  • Sleeps all night – typically goes to bed 9:00-9:30 and up around 7:00 – 7:30
  • Has been very good so far about NOT chewing or destroying anything
  • Does like his toys, and he plays well with his toys

                                        

NOTES (any other pertinent information that will help you decide if you might be the safe, loving forever home):

Drakes loves to play so a family/individual with another small dog would be great for Drake.”

Created: March 23, 2019