This is HAM,

               

(From his current owner who is in vet school) “Ham is a Terrier/Basset Hound mix I adopted around October, 2018 through All 4 Paws Rescue based out of Malvern, PA. Unfortunately, the history they had for him wasn’t very accurate, so he came with some problems that no one anticipated. Ham has separation anxiety but seemed to do MUCH better when he could spend time with my other dog. Unfortunately, my other dog attacked him twice (one time completely unprovoked and was unpredictable), so I felt this was not a safe environment for him and made the VERY difficult decision to put him up for adoption back through the same rescue.

Since then, he has been diagnosed with idiopathic megaesophagus.

I feel that because of his separation anxiety and his megaesophagus he does need an owner with experience, and I am hoping by getting his story to a community who focuses on special needs dogs that can be possible. As painful as it is to put him up for adoption, I really want him to find a home that is best suited for him and that he can thrive in.”                                                                

  • Current age: 4 years old
  • Current weight: 33 lbs
  • Dogs Current Status:
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • Owners Name & Location: Carly Waldron / Philadelphia, PA
  • Contact info: 609.351.2163 /  waldronc@vet.upenn.edu

 

Timeframe needed to find a home: In June I will have to live with the dog who had attacked him. They do get along, so must be constantly supervised and I don’t know how comfortable I am with them living together again. I informed the rescue of this about 2 months ago but unfortunately have had no foster or adoption offers.

 

Medical information (spay/neuter, chipped, other health conditions if any, etc):

  • Neutered
  • Microchipped

 

Where and how did we get this dog:

All 4 Paws Rescue about 6 months ago

 

Where and how ME was diagnosed:

Animal hospital (give name if known): Old York Veterinary Hospital, Philadelphia, PA

X-rays or barium study: X-rays

 

Meds currently taken:

  • Trazadone 100mg and Gabapentin 100mg 2 hours prior to leaving in the morning –

recommended by behavior specialist for separation anxiety

  • Heartgard Plus or Triheart / Nexgard or Bravecto

 

Food brands and consistency (meatballs, milkshake, pureed, etc):

  • Currently feeding Purina dry soaked in water for about 20 minutes prior to feeding
  • Want to switch to wet food soon

 

Fed how many times per day in what position and timeframe:

  • Eats 2 times a day
  • Uses a bailey chair
  • Stays in chair about 15 minutes after eating

                                                 

Hydration method and consistency (Knox Blox, SubQ, Thick It, etc):

His water bowl sits on a kitchen cart – puts his paws up on it to drink, so must drink in an upright position, but doesn’t need to stay upright afterwards

 

Items that will go to the new home:

  • Bailey chair
  • 1 year (from this month) of heartworm and flea/tick prevention
  • Reusable diapers
  • 1 month of Trazadone/Gabapentin
  • Kong + toys
  • Harness

Exercise preferred (if any) and level (high, moderate, low):  He is pretty content to just lie curled up on the couch or in the bed – has occasional spurts of energy where he likes to fling a toy around and play fetch but that is random

 

Miscellaneous:  

  • Reaction to children, other dogs, and cats
  • Doesn’t seem to react well to very small children, but if introduced to one (probably 10

and above) I think he would do fine.

  • Has interacted with cats and had no reaction
  • Takes some time (about 1 hour or 2 in his recent interactions) to warm up to new dogs,

but once he is comfortable with them he does very well with them and enjoys playing

with them

  • Housebroken, however I keep a reusable (and shockingly very effective) diaper on him

when I leave the house due to his separation anxiety

  • Not crate trained – when I first got him I attempted to put him in a crate and he panicked

and did not do well, so the behaviorist said no more crates

  • Does not need to be elevated at night

 

 

 

 

 

 

Created: May 5, 2019