This is JASPER,

           

From the owner of this handsome well managed boy: We adopted Jasper from a German Shepard breeder in Lexington, SC on Feb 2, 2019 (we have had him in our home for 5 months). We brought Jasper into our home to be a companion for my husband who has Parkinson Disease.  I do travel for work (2-3 times a year for 3-5 days at a time) and during those times away from home we were going to kennel Jasper as my husband would not be able to take care of him by himself.  Now that Jasper is unable to eat dry food and needs to be feed in a Baily Chair I am unable to put him in a kennel during my time away from home.  We feel that at this time it would be best for us to find Jasper a ‘forever home’ were his new parents are home with him all the time and are able to adjust his food intake as needed.”

                               

  • Current age: 6 months old (born 12/15/2018) Current weight: 52 lbs
  • Dogs Current Status: With owner Location: Lexington, SC
  • Owners Name & Location: Mary Robert / Lexington, SC
  • Contact info: wishes4251@yahoo.com

 

                                                 

 

Timeframe needed to find a home: It would be best if we could find a home for Jasper soon

 

Where and how did we get this dog: Adopted from a breeder in the area

 

Where and how ME was diagnosed:

Animal hospital (give name if known): Their vet in their town – see below

X-rays or barium study: X-ray with barium

 

IMPORTANT: “She sent us to CVET in Columbia to see if Jasper had PRAA.   We were hoping that they could operate to fix his right aortic valve which is what they all thought it could be in a puppy so young.  Unfortunately, after a CT scan the surgeon found that he did not have PRAA and there was nothing more to do than to manage the way he eats.  The Bailey Chair saved his life as he has started to gain the weight that a dog his age should be gaining.   He still regurgitates but it is mostly small amounts of liquid and he has been able to keep most, if not all, his food down now that he uses the chair.”

Meds currently taken: None

 

Food brands and consistency (meatballs, milkshake, pureed, etc):

  • Eats Orijens (Original formula) food 
  • Grind to a powder consistency and mix with canned then cover with water to soak
  • Refrigerate overnight
  • Form meatballs and divide into 3 meals  


Fed how many times per day in what position and timeframe:

  • Stays in chair for about 15 minutes after eating
  • Keep him in chair by putting peanut butter in bottom of bowl along with some ice cubes.  
  • Can have him play with a toy to keep in chair longer if needed 

 

Hydration method and consistency (Knox Blox, SubQ, Thick It, etc)

  • Usually gets ice cubes after running around outside
  • Has also been given Knox Blox 

 

Items that will go to the new home: 

  • Bed
  • Crate
  • Training collars
  • Homemade Bailey Chair
  • Toys 
  • Health records

 

Exercise preferred (if any) and level (high, moderate, low): 

Moderate – likes to take walks and being outside (but not by himself) 

 

Miscellaneous:  

  • Has been thru a training program before we found out he had ME.
  • Knows the commands for sit, stay, down and heel
  • Walks well on a leash as long as he has on his training collar on
  • Housebroken 
  • Only in his crate at night or while we are away from home

 

Created: July 6, 2019