This is MISSY

Missy is a gorgeous, loving Basenji or Jack Russell Terrier mix who is high energy level so needs space and time to run. She loves to take camping trips, go hiking, and take long walks. She loves other dogs, is a bit obsessive with chasing cats (a no cat house would be best), and has briefly been around children and done fine.

                   

                                  

    

Missy is a LOVER and will cuddle on top of you for as long as you let her.  She loves to sleep in bed next to you, under the covers pressing her face right next to yours. And her favorite activity in the world is playing fetch…she LOVES this and will play as long as you toss.

  • Current age: 3 years
  • Current weight: 27 lbs
  • Dogs Current Status: With vet tech (as owner surrender)
  • Location: Rice, VA

 

  • Owners Name & Location: Casey Moon / Rice, VA
  • Contact info: 804.363.6039 / caseyamoon@gmail.com

Timeframe needed to find a home: “I am moving next weekend, but can pay to have her boarded for a few weeks if necessary”

Medical information (spay/neuter, chipped, other health conditions if any, etc):

  •  Spayed
  • Current on Distemper-combo vaccine and Rabies
  • Heart worm/tick test= Negative
  • Dewormed
  • Have veterinary records and Rabies certificate

Where and how did I get this dog:

“I work at a veterinary hospital and rescued her from euthanasia with the plan of rehoming her;  moving very soon and cannot take her with me”

 

Where and how was ME diagnosed:

Animal hospital: Village Veterinary Service, in May after patient was brought in for

regurgitating all food she was eating

X-rays or barium swallow: Diagnosed with Barium swallow (available upon request)

Meds currently taken: Currently on no medications

Food brands and consistency (meatballs, milkshake, pureed, etc):

  •  Eats Purina One Lamb and Rice
  • Food is blended to a thin liquid consistency – “she does very well with the liquid diet and

has gained all of her weight back that she lost before I had her”

Fed how many times per day in what position and timeframe:

  • Fed using an elevated food bowl
  • Eats twice a day (I am gone from my house 12 hours a day)
  • Stays upright on the sofa next to me for 5-10 minutes after meals (but with just receiving

a chair, will start using that for feeding and upright afterwards)

Hydration method and consistency (Knox Blox, SubQ, Thick It, etc)Use Thick-it in water

Items that will go to the new home:

  •  6 months of Interceptor (heart worm prevention)
  • 6 months of Bravecto (flea/tick prevention)
  • Brand new Bailey Chair (built for a lab but does work for Missy even though she does

well without it at this time)

  • Elevated food and water feeder
  • All health records
  • CD copy of radiographs

Exercise preferred (if any) and level (high, moderate, low):  High energy level, needs space and time to run    

                    

Miscellaneous:

  • “I have taken her camping, biking, and running with me and she did great”
  •  “Listens very well off of a leash and never wanders from my side on any of the trips that

we’ve taken”

  •  “Swam in the river and slept in the tent with me”
  • Loves other dogs
  • Does like to obsessively chase cats – recommend her go to a no cat household
  • Has been around children for a brief period of time and did well with them
  • Is housebroken to an extent- like any smaller dog she cannot hold it for long periods of

time  (if let out multiple times a day and right before bed, she does fine)

NOTES (any other pertinent information that will help you decide if you might be the safe, loving forever home):

“Missy is a LOVER.  She will cuddle right on top of you for as long as you let her.  She lives to sleep in bed next to you- under the covers-pressing her face right next to yours.  She loves to play fetch- LOVES it. Rope toys are not great for her as she will eventually chew them up.  She does best with hard rubber toys such as Kongs.”

Created: 10/20/17